Skip to main content

James Sauls Named Sarah Rebecca Roland Professor

June 21, 2021

Physics & Astronomy professor James Sauls has been named the Sarah Rebecca Roland Professor of Physics and Astronomy. Sarah Roland was the first woman to receive an undergraduate degree from Northwestern in 1874 and is the namesake of Northwestern’s Roland Hall. The other current Roland Chair is Bryna Kra of the Mathematics Department.

Professor Sauls is a top theoretical condensed matter physicist who was awarded the Fritz London Memorial Prize along with fellow P&A Professor William Halperin in 2017. In the past 2-3 years, Professor Sauls has co-led the Center for Applied Physics and Superconducting Technologies (CAPST) with joint faculty member Anna Grasselino, and forged a powerful collaboration with scientists at Fermilab. This collaboration has since established SQMS (Superconducting Quantum Materials and Systems Center) at Fermilab, for which Sauls serves as Deputy Director.

Professor Sauls has a distinguished record of scholarship and is an excellent instructor, providing much support for the graduate program in physics.

Congratulations Professor Sauls on this well-deserved honor! Back to top