Skip to main content

Mercouri G. Kanatzidis

Professor of Chemistry

B.S.: Aristotle University of Thessaloniki 1979; Ph.D.: University of Iowa 1984


Argonne National Lab

Research Statement

Inorganic chemistry, solid state and coordination chemistry of chalcogenide compounds. Design of new materials, exploratory synthesis, thermoelectric materials, nanostructured materials, intermetallics, mesoporous semiconductors, phase-change materials, conducting polymers, intercalation chemistry applications of new materials.

Selected Publications

"Importance of Reducing Vapor Atmosphere in the Fabrication of Tin-Based Perovskite Solar Cells", Song, T. B.; Yokoyama, T.; Stoumpos, C. C.; Logsdon, J.; Cao, D. H.; Wasielewski, M. R.; Aramaki, S.; Kanatzidis, M. G., J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2017, 139 (2), 836-842.

"Discovery-Synthesis, Design, and Prediction of Chalcogenide Phases", Kanatzidis, M. G., Inorg. Chem. 2017, 56 (6), 3158-3173.

"Extremely Efficient Internal Exciton Dissociation Through Edge States in Layered 2D Perovskites", Blancon, J. C.; Tsai, H.; Nie, W.; Stoumpos, C. C.; Pedesseau, L.; Katan, C.; Kepenekian, M.; Soe, C. M. M.; Appavoo, K.; Sfeir, M. Y.; Tretiak, S.; Ajayan, P. M.; Kanatzidis, M. G.; Even, J.; Crochet, J. J.; Mohite, A. D., Science 2017, 355 (6331), 1288-1291.

"Ultrahigh Power Factor and Thermoelectric Performance in Hole-Doped Single-Crystal SnSe", Zhao, L. D.; Tan, G. J.; Hao, S. Q.; He, J. Q.; Pei, Y. L.; Chi, H.; Wang, H.; Gong, S. K.; Xu, H. B.; Dravid, V. P.; Uher, C.; Snyder, G. J.; Wolverton, C.; Kanatzidis, M. G., Science 2016, 351 (6269), 141-144.

"Halide Perovskites: Poor Man's High-Performance Semiconductors", Stoumpos, C. C.; Kanatzidis, M. G., Adv. Mater. 2016, 28 (28), 5778-5793.

"Highly Selective and Efficient Removal of Heavy Metals by Layered Double Hydroxide Intercalated with the MoS42- Ion", Ma, L. J.; Wang, Q.; Islam, S. M.; Liu, Y. C.; Ma, S. L.; Kanatzidis, M. G., J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2016, 138 (8), 2858-2866.

"TiO2-ZnS Cascade Electron Transport Layer for Efficient Formamidinium Tin Iodide Perovskite Solar Cells", Ke, W. J.; Stoumpos, C. C.; Logsdon, J. L.; Wasielewski, M. R.; Yan, Y. F.; Fang, G. J.; Kanatzidis, M. G., J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2016, 138 (45), 14998-15003.

"Codoping in SnTe: Enhancement of Thermoelectric Performance through Synergy of Resonance Levels and Band Convergence", Tan, G. J.; Shi, F. Y.; Hao, S. Q.; Chi, H.; Zhao, L. D.; Uher, C.; Wolverton, C.; Dravid, V. P.; Kanatzidis, M. G., J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2015, 137 (15), 5100-5112.

"Photochemical Nitrogen Conversion to Ammonia in Ambient Conditions with FeMoS-Chalcogels", Banerjee, A.; Yuhas, B. D.; Margulies, E. A.; Zhang, Y. B.; Shim, Y.; Wasielewski, M. R.; Kanatzidis, M. G., J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2015, 137 (5), 2030-2034.

"Ultralow Thermal Conductivity and High Thermoelectric Figure of Merit in SnSe Crystals", Zhao, L. D.; Lo, S. H.; Zhang, Y. S.; Sun, H.; Tan, G. J.; Uher, C.; Wolverton, C.; Dravid, V. P.; Kanatzidis, M. G., Nature 2014, 508 (7496), 373-377.

Selected Honors/Awards

  • Presidential Young Investigator Award. National Science Foundation, 1989-1994
  • ACS Inorganic Chemistry Division Award: EXXON Faculty Fellowship in Solid State Chemistry, 1990
  • Beckman Young Investigator, 1992-1994
  • Alfred P. Sloan Fellow 1991-1993
  • Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher Scholar 1993-1998
  • Michigan State University Distinguished Faculty Award 1998
  • Sigma Xi 2000 Senior Meritorious Faculty Award
  • University Distinguished Professor MSU 2001
  • John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellow 2002
  • Alexander von Humboldt Prize, 2003
  • Morley Medal, American Chemical Society, Cleveland Section, 2003
  • Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor, Northwestern University 2006
  • MRS Fellow 2010
  • AAAS Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2012
  • Cheetham Lecturer Award, University of California Santa Barbara, 2013
  • Einstein Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2014
  • International Thermoelectric Society Outstanding Achievement Award 2014
  • MRS Medal 2014
  • Royal Chemical Society DeGennes Prize 2015
  • Elected Fellow of the Royal Chemical Society 2015
  • ENI Award for the "Renewable Energy Prize" category, 2015
  • Wilhelm Manchot Research Professorship, 2015
  • ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry, 2016
  • American Physical Society 2016 James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials
  • APS Fellow, 2016
  • Samson Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation in Alternative Fuels for Transportation, 2016
  • Honorary Doctorate Degree, University of Crete, 2017
  • Hershel and Hilda Rich Visiting Professorship, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, 2017
Back to top